With more classes, more entries, more attractions, more spectators and the entry list reading like the who’s who of Australia circuit and rally racing, the on-track action was always going to be spectacular!

Once again perfect weather welcomed a full grid of racers, all keen to prove their worth against each other and the toughest competitor of them all – The Clock!

Last year’s Best of the Best Shootout winner, Garth Walden in the Tilton Interiors Mitsubishi EVO 9 set the pace early on, with a blindingly fast lap time of 1:12.1. Mark Berry, driving the brand new Hi Octane Racing/Yokohama Advan R34 GT-R showed the car has plenty of potential, with his lap times improving throughout the day. Going into the final attempt with a fastest lap time of 1.13.64 Mark had Garth well within his sights. Third driver into the finals was Martin Notaras in the Notaras Racing EVO 9. The Pro-Class final attempt was going to be a Nissan vs Mitsubishi affair.

With Walden unable match his morning pace and Berry lapping increasingly faster, it looked like the black GT-R might just sneak into the 1:12 zone and take the winner’s trophy. But despite best efforts from both Berry and Notaras, neither of them were able to catch Walden in the Tilton Interiors Evo 9 who ended up taking home top honours followed by Mark Berry in the Hi Octane Racing/Advan R34 GTR in Second and the Notaras Racing Evo 9 driven by Martin Notaras taking Third spot.

Superlap would like to Congratulate the Tilton Interiors Team for becoming the first ever Superlap Pro Class Winners!

The Open Class was dominated by John Boston driving the Toyota-powered Southern Motorworks Lotus Exige. John was a very busy man indeed, not only driving two Open Class cars on the day, but managing to get both of them into the top three. Placed in between the Boston-driven Lotus Exige and Insight Motorsports/Elias Augerinos Honda S2000, was the dark horse of the competition and a crowd favourite – Ryan Brown in his Bilstein Racing RX-7. Logging a fautless lap after lap, Ryan managed to push Boston in the Honda S2000 into the third spot and take the runner’s up title in the Open Class.

The Clubsprint Class competition was just as fierce with the eventual winner emerging in the final laps of the day. The winners trophy went to Jeramiah Thomas in his Mitsubishi Evo 9, followed by Jason Naidoo in an Evo 8 and Marek Tomaszewski completing a Mitsubishi trifecta in is Evo 9.

Trader displays kept the spectators busy with The Cancer Council (Superlap’s official charity) collecting close to $2,000 in donations and one lucky entrant walking away with a set of brand new Yokohama Advan wheels, with all the proceeds from the raffle going to the Cancer Council.